top of page

Album That Shaped Me Pt. 2


This album is hands down my favorite album of any genre. I'm not just saying that because Kanye is my favorite rapper of all time. I'm saying because this album is just THAT. DAMN. DOPE!!!!

No album shaped me more than this album right here and no album captures what it is like to live life better than Kanye did on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. This album came on the heels of the infamous Taylor Swift VMAs controversy, where Kanye snatched the mic from her and told the world that Beyonce deserved the awarded. I knew right then and there that Kanye is my spirit animal.

The backlash from that night drove Kanye into hiding from society and just focusing all of his energy into making this album. And boy was it worth the wait.

This album was chaotic in its sound, yet beautiful in it's arrangement.... Kinda like when your girlfriend gets her period. Yeah, she might be a little harder to deal with but at least you know she is not pregnant..... Yeah, this album literally what that would sound like in musical form.... Better yet it was what life sounds like.

Kanye exposes all of his demons on this album. Everyone single one. Everyone corner of his mind and soul gets put on display. He shows you all of this because that is just who he is. In a world that shunned him, his answer was to show you who he is as a person, which exactly what I needed in high school.

He showed me that the world can be ugly but we are all flawed. Instead of hiding our flaws we should embrace and just be who we are born to be.

Comments


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page