top of page

Album That Shaped Me Pt. 1


Lupe Fiasco's The Cool is undoubtedly consider a classic album to any real hip-hop fan and maybe even music fans in general. But the accolades that this album received is not what made it a dope project. It's the fact that Lupe has always been himself. A nerdy kid from the streets of Chicago.

I was in middle-school when I first heard this album. Everybody can remember the awkwardness that is middle-school. Puberty hits you like a linebacker, hormones are raging so badly that you're in more heat than the sun, and you're finally starting to form these things of your own called "Ideas." Just a hella confusing time for humans.

For me Lupe helped make that transition easier. Lupe wasn't talking about the same things most other rappers were talking about at that time. I can't relate to sex with multiple women, getting drunk, and doing drugs because I was in, get this, "middle-school." A lot of the music at that time, as dope as it was, I couldn't personally relate to it. At least not my lifestyle anyway. Lupe, got deep in his lyrics. He spoke about a lot of the same things that other rapped about but he rapped against them.

Lupe was a nerd who's lyrics would reference giant robots, comics, anime, and skateboarding. All stuff that I was interested in. Most of all he was just himself. Instead of preaching being a nerd is cool, he preached being yourself is what's cool.

Opmerkingen


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page